Source: Warhammer Fantasy: 6th Edition

Aligning the Combatants
URL Copied!

Once the charging unit is in contact it is automatically aligned against its enemy as shown in the diagram below to form a battle line. This extra alignment move is free.

If it is unpractical to align a unit properly because of interposing terrain, other models, or whatever, then it is acceptable to re-align the charged unit as well (or instead) so that the battle lines remain neat. A confusing situation may arise when interposing terrain or models make it impossible to align the whole unit, for example. Rather than clutter the rules with endless clarifications, we have included further examples in the back of this book.

A unit of Knights charges an Orc regiment. The Knights charge forward until the edge of their formation touches the Orcs'. The Knights are automatically aligned along the enemy's front to form a battle line. Note that this extra alignment move is free, and might result in the most distant Knights moving further than their charge move.

Previous - Manoeuvring During a Charge

Next - Moving Engaged Units